03 March 2014

Dave Campbell's Race Trivia- March 2014, Trofeo Laiguelglia

March 2014

Trofeo Laigueglia

The 2014 Trofeo Laigueglia was won by Filippo Pozzato
This early season Italian Road Race has been held annually since 1964 in Liguria, Italy. Having just been held last weekend (won by Colombian Jose Serpa), this UCI 1.1 race has quite a list of Campiones and Campionissimos in its relatively short history. As the European Road Season begins now in earnest in March, lets look at this great little rolling race that draws quality fields every year to its relatively warm roads.

Q1. Two Americans have won this event, neither being Greg Lemond! Can you name them? Even better, can you name the years they won?

Q2. Who holds the record for the most wins at the Trophy of Laigueglia?

Q3. All of the following great champions triumphed here EXCEPT one: Eddy Merckx, Giuseppe Saronni, Francesco Moser, Freddy Maertens, Paolo Salvodelli, and Roger DeVlaeminck.

Answers will be posted March 7th, 2014

We are on a mission to spread meaningful content and give you awesome deals on cycling clothing. Like us on Facebook and see for yourself.